triangulate

A PatternNation Collaborative film

Commissioned by F-O-R-M Festival Vancouver

Premiering September 15th at SFU Woodwards

 

Triangulate Promo Insta 4.jpg
INsta promo city.jpg
Insta Promo Mural.jpg

PatternNation welcomes you on the journey that is TRIANGULATE. Filmed within three cities: Durban South Africa, Vancouver and Nanaimo Canada this film brought together 21 diverse artists between the two countries. The journey begins with the introverted self, the part of us that experiences solitude, intimacy and self-reflection. In the first scene vocalist Nipho Hurd brings us into nature with her track while dancers Lorin SoKool, Marisa Gold and Jason Bempong express and explore with PatternNation’s interactive soft blob sculptures. Our creative compass takes us next to the extroverted self, the part of us that experiences social stimulation, attention and excitement. The extroverted self is expressed by Lex Lafoy’s track Sibaningi’la (Zulu) There are many of us (English). We celebrate community connection with the full Durban cast and Vancouver dance company Immigrant Lessons. This voyage ends in exploring the creative self, the part of us that experiences innovation, exploration and originality. Set amidst PatternNation Murals CostaBesta’s experimental track is danced by TJ Jali and choreographer Lorin SoKool in Durban, Marisa Gold and Jason Bempong (Immigrant Lessons) in Nanaiamo and performed by CostaBesta in both cities. The introverted self, the extroverted self and the creative self complete the triangle that is TRIANGULATE. Thank you for joining us on this colourful trip as we explore connecting the Mind, Body and Soul through dance, visual art, self-expression and cross-cultural exchange.

Durban South Africa

Videographers: Cebo Nxumalo @cebo_nxumalo Nhlanhla Gcabashe

Musicians/Emcees/ Performers: CostaBesta @costabesta Lex Lafoy @lex_lafoy Nipho Hurd @nipho_hurd 

Beatmaker/ Music Producer: Sean Ross @missu2missu 

Sound Engineer: Dave Audinary @dave_audinary_sa 

Choreographer/ Dancer (Durban): Lorin Sokool @koolsokool Dancer: TJ Jali  @zamokuhlet.j

Production Assistant: Lindy Sisson @lindydance

Vancouver Canada

Director/ Producer/ Costumes/ Art/ Dancer/ Editor: Cydney Eva Pattern @cydeva of PatternNation @pattern.nation

Videographers: Kimberley González @kimzalez876 Hân Phạm @hanpham7999 Jason Bempong @brotha_jason

Editor: Kimberley González @kimzalez876

Dancers/ Choreography (Vancouver): Immigrant Lessons @immigrantlessons : Kevin Fraser @kevinfraser Alyssa Amarshi @alyssamarshi Jason Bempong @brothajason Josh Ongocol @josheeong Sophia Gamboa @sophiaa.gamoa Marisa Gold @marathegold Sharon Lee @sharon_lee8 

Production Assistant: Lindy Sisson @lindydance